Kacey Musgraves has announced her new album, ‘star-crossed’

Kacey Musgraves has dropped a brand new track, announced her new album, and revealed there’s a film to go alongside it.

The new album follows the musician’s crossover success with her third album ‘Golden Hour’, which won Best Country Album and Album Of The Year at the 2019 Grammy Awards.

‘star-crossed’ is set to be released on September 10 via Interscope/Polydor/UMG Nashville and will contain 15 songs. The record will be “structured as a modern-day tragedy in three acts” and “tells an extremely personal journey of heartache and healing”, according to a press release.

Let me set the scene,” Musgraves sings on the title track. “Two lovers ripped right at the seams/ They woke up from the perfect dream/ And then the darkness came.” You can listen to it in the trailer for the film below.

The tracklist for ‘star-crossed’ is as follows:

1. ‘star-crossed’
2. ‘good wife’
3. ‘cherry blossom’
4. ‘simple times’
5. ‘if this was a movie…’
6. ‘justified’
7. ‘angel’
8. ‘breadwinner’
9. ‘camera roll’
10. ‘easier said’
11. ‘hookup scene’
12. ‘keep lookin’ up’
13. ‘what doesn’t kill me’
14. ‘there is a light’
15. ‘gracias a la vida’

star-crossed: the film, meanwhile, will arrive on the same day as the album and will be streamed exclusively on Paramount+ in the US, Latin America, Australia, the Nordics and Canada. Fans in the UK and other regions will be able to watch it on MTV.

The 50-minute, Bardia Zeinali directed piece will feature the likes of Schitt’s Creek’s Eugene Levy, Once Upon A Time In Hollywood’s Victoria Pedretti, Princess Nokia, RuPaul’s Drag Race winner Symone and comedian Megan Stalter. You can check out a trailer, and the new title track, below.

Homeless man in wheelchair shot outside South Los Angeles McDonald’s

Bakery shamed for ‘sick’ Johnny Depp v. Amber Heard pastry: ‘That’s not ok’

Nicole Kidman excluded from Tom Cruise’s career montage at Cannes Film Festival

The rise of the modern day ‘Peeping Tom’: How creeps are stealing nude images off phones